facebook

Angular IDE does not start

1. CodeMix & Angular IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Webclipse 1.x Help
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

kwakoo
    Participant

I have downloaded and installed Angular IDE but it is not starting

I get the following message:

An error has occurred. See the log file
    /home/user/Workspaces/Angular IDE 2017 CI/.metadata/.log.

but the log file .metadata/.log. is not visible or I can not see it.

I am running it on ubuntu 16.04

Please give me some tips I am new to the Angular IDE and eclipse though I know my way around angular.

• This topic was modified 5 years, 9 months ago by kwakoo. Reason: typo
    #592670 Reply

Aaron Lara

@kwakoo, sorry you are having this issue. Angular IDE is currently based on Eclipse Neon which requires Java 8 but does not support java 9 or 10. We are currently working on a fix to detect unsuported (newer) versions and automatically set java. It’s very likely you are hitting this issue.

There are some ways to workaround it, but first, could you please let me know which version of Java do you have in your system?

cheers!
    Aaron Lara

#592672 Reply

Aaron Lara

It would be good to know what your log file contains. Maybe you can try accessing it using your terminal (given these are hidden files). A command like cat "/home/user/Workspaces/Angular IDE 2017 CI/.metadata/.log" should do.

Assuming the version of Java you have installed is the issue:

One way to go is to download (from here) the corresponding java JRE for your linux arch and uncompress it. Then edit the angularide.ini file located in your Angular IDE install directory. Before -vmArgs in a new line you can add -vm <path to java>
    Example:

-vm
    /home/user/java-vm/sun-jre-1.8.0.171/bin/java

Another way to go is to install Java 8 in your system and after this Angular IDE should launch correctly. You can check this external tutorial: https://www.linode.com/docs/development/java/install-java-on-ubuntu-16-04/