facebook

Remote Debug in eclipse

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. General
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

glynnee

Hello!

I am new to eclipse and I’m not familiar with it. I am having trouble using remote debug. I don’t understand why nothing happens when I press F6 or F8 after clicking on “Debug…” Hope someone can help me. Thank you.

#259323 Reply

Riyad Kalla

Are you debugging a Java application, web application, etc? Also don’t forget to set breakpoints, if you don’t set any breakpoints, debugging will literally do nothing.

#259330 Reply

glynnee

I am debugging a Java application. I have also set breakpoints. Sometimes remote debug will work, sometimes it will not. And even though I have modified compiler options, the message “Unable to install breakpoints due to missing line number attributes. Modify compiler options to generate line number attributes.” still appears five times! I don’t understand why it is happening at all.

I am also using ant script. And I have added debug=”true” on <target=”compile”…> <javac …> Hope you can help me figure this out.

#259361 Reply

Riyad Kalla

Ahh setting debug=true isn’t enough, you also need to set debuglevel=”lines,vars,source”, please see this for reference:
    http://ant.apache.org/manual/CoreTasks/javac.html

#259415 Reply

glynnee

Ah yes setting debuglevel=”lines,vars,source” solved my problem. The message, “Unable to install breakpoints due to missing line number attributes. Modify compiler options to generate line number attributes.” will no longer appear when I run “Debug…” But still I can’t debug the java files…After I run “Debug…” it will connect to remote VM and several threads are running…but when I press F6 or F8, debug doesn’t execute. Is that suppose to happen? Please bear with me…I just don’t know what to do anymore.

I have also tried “clean” before I run “Debug…” but it will have a message, “Errors during build.