For help with installation, bugs reports or feature requests, please head over to our new forums.
Genuitec Community on GitHub
- This topic has 8 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 16 years, 7 months ago by
support-joy.
-
AuthorPosts
-
jadonohu2Memberhow come i’m getting a nag screen while there is still time left in my paid subscription. that’s really bad. please tell me there is a way to disable that.
February 2, 2007 at 8:41 am #265527
Scott AndersonParticipantThe “nag screen” is supposed to remind you 1 time, each time MyEclipse is started, if your subscription is within 30-days of expiry. Is it reminding you more often than that? If so, it’s a bug and if you can help us determine a set of events that causes it we’ll do our best to fix it before the new release.
February 2, 2007 at 9:22 am #265533
jadonohu2MemberYes, it does so every time I start eclipse. That technique is called a “nag screen” for a reason: it is supposed to be mildly annoying to encourage users to pay for evaluation software. You’re saying MyEclipse has purposely added a nag screen for the enitre final month of my *PAID FOR* subscription? How obnoxious is that? Very bad form.
February 2, 2007 at 2:44 pm #265560
Scott AndersonParticipantI certainly respect your opinion, but the reason the screen exists is simply so our users won’t start up MyEclipse and be prevented from working effectively due to a “suddenly expired” subscription. For example, you get inspired to do some work at 3am, crank up MyEclipse, and you’re subscription has expired. I think everyone can agree that this would be a bad thing. Of course, you could immediately go online and update your subscription electronically, but personally I would be too crazy about doing that at 3am when I was inspired to work. So, the software reminds you to prevent this from happening.
I think it’s the frequency of reminders that is the issue. For an individual that purchases their own subscription electronically it’s likely too much. I would imagine that you’re probably in this group. However, for some companies it’s still not enough because their purchase processes take more than 30 days to complete. So, a few years ago we decided that a “once at restart” reminder within 30 days seemed reasonable. But you can’t please everyone with a single setting.
I think the best solution might be to add a “remind me again in…” dialog so you can pick something like (1 day, 5 days, 10 days, never). That seems rather standard these days. Would that be a decent compromise to address your concerns with the current scheme?
February 2, 2007 at 3:13 pm #265566
jadonohu2MemberI appreciate your taking the time to look for a good compromise. Yes, IMO that would be a much more user-friendly solution.
February 2, 2007 at 7:53 pm #265576
Scott AndersonParticipantIt’s slated to go into 5.5 at this point so “fingers crossed”. 🙂
February 26, 2007 at 10:45 am #266655
David C BauerMemberI second the issue of the annoying reminder. “Remind me later” would be a great compromise.
December 29, 2009 at 12:34 pm #305009
ibrandtParticipantThis message has not been recovered.
December 30, 2009 at 12:21 am #305023
support-joyMemberThis message has not been recovered.
-
AuthorPosts
