facebook

Eclipse 2.1.1 and MyEclipse

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. Old Posts
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Are there any issues regarding upgrading eclipse to 2.1.1?

#196646 Reply

Scott Anderson
    Participant

Yes, there are. Please don’t. 🙂

We’ll have versions for Eclipse 2.1 and 2.1.1 for the GA release on 7/15. Give us a couple of weeks and you’ll be good to go.

–Scott
    MyEclipse Support

#196653 Reply

Davi Rocks

@scott wrote:

Yes, there are. Please don’t. 🙂

We’ll have versions for Eclipse 2.1 and 2.1.1 for the GA release on 7/15. Give us a couple of weeks and you’ll be good to go.

–Scott
    MyEclipse Support

I’m new to your product. Are you saying EA2 doesn’t support eclipse 2.1 and that I shouldn’t install it on eclipse 2.1.1? I don’t want to start our project on any other version than 2.1.1, given the schedule for 3.0 and I don’t want to spend time updating tools. What is the seriousness of this restriction?

#196658 Reply

Scott Anderson
    Participant

What I’m saying is that EA2 supports only Eclipse 2.1, but not 2.1.1 that was released a couple of days ago. We will have full 2.1.1 support, in addition to 2.1 support, in the GA release on 7/15.

What is the seriousness of this restriction?

It’s rather serious in that the trial licensing mechanism was broken by the changes so it basically won’t run without a purchased subscription key. Other than that, there have been no other showstoppers identified yet. But since the 2.1.1 release is so new we’ve really only begun our internal testing so we are certainly treating 2.1.1 as unsupported for EA2.

Remember, one of the advantages you get from MyEclipse membership is that we worry about the version compatabilities for all the tools, instead of you. Of course, this is only an issue if your project kicks off before 7/15 since you can just kick back and wait for the GA release.