facebook

MyEclipse 4.0/3 loses deployment information

💡
Our Forums Have Moved

For help with installation, bugs reports or feature requests, please head over to our new forums.
Genuitec Community on GitHub

  1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Installation, Configuration & Updates
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #243844 Reply

    Mork
    Participant

    I’ve had a situation recently where MyEclipse loses the deployment that I setup for Tomcat.

    I was working most of the day on a problem that just wasn’t geting fixed. I finally realized what the problem was when I put some text that should have appeared on a Web page, but it didn’t show up when I saved the JSP.

    Is this a known issue with MyEclipse?

    To fix this, I had to shut down Tomcat and re-setup the deployment.

    Now, I’m worried that it will break again.

    I did have, at one point, two projects open, but that shouldn’t break the deployment entry, right?

    Look forward to your reply.

    — M

    #243846

    Scott Anderson
    Participant

    M,

    Since you mentioned “open projects”, deployments are removed for a project whenever it is closed because the Eclipse “rules of engagement” tell us that a closed project should be effectively treated as “dead” and cause no overhead to the workbench. So, if you closed the project then reopened it, that would explain what you’re seeing.

    #243936

    Mork
    Participant

    Huh?

    I hope I’m misunderstanding what you’re saying. <s>

    I routinely close a project when I open another one. That doesn’t mean the project is dead or anything like that. However, the case in point I reported to you is where MyEclipse, for whatever reason, simply lost its deployment information.

    Normally, when you close a project in MyEclipse the deployment information remains as it should.

    I’ve talked to others who’ve had the same thing happen to them. It wasn’t “what they wanted….”.

    I just wanted to follow up with you on this so you could possibly alert the developers that there might be a bug lurking in here somewhere.

    Thanks.

    – M

    #243947

    Riyad Kalla
    Member

    Mork,
    I’ll follow up with the developers about this, but just FYI about why this is happening:

    Scott is correct, the Eclipse design docs clearly specify that in the workbench, any closed projects should be “cleaned up” in such a manner that it be considered a dead resource, so for us that means cleaning out the deployments when a project is closed. However, way back when, a lot of users complained about this behavior, and rightly so, it’s annoying. So we removed it. Now what you might be seeing is some unpatched code path that is still doing the old routine of cleaning up the deployments, so I’ll ask the devs to look into it closer, sorry about the inconvenience.

    #243963

    Mork
    Participant

    I appreciate your follow up. <s>

    In my view, and I’m thinking others, the deployment information should stay in the deployment manager until you remove it from the deployment manager, not close a project.

    Closing a project is just a way of saying … “Hey, I need to work on this other project now, sp I’ll close this one for now” (but the thought that you’re hosing your settings would never enter my mind).

    Thanks again.

    — M

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
Reply To: MyEclipse 4.0/3 loses deployment information

You must be logged in to post in the forum log in