facebook

need some help…

1. MyEclipse Archived
  2.  > 
  3. Matisse/Swing UI Development
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

kingzasz

I am using matisse to build a GUI for a java app I’m working on. I am new to Java, so I am having some problems.

I have a few questions, so here I go:

1) I created a form for my basic GUI, and I put in all my menu items (ex. I have file -> open, file -> properties, etc) Now when I go to work on the JPanel for “file -> properties”, I add it to “other components” instead of creating a new form, correct? Or do I make a form class for everything?

2) I added a “JFileChooser” to “other components”, and I’ve been trying to link the file -> open to the JFileChooser, so when someone goes file -> open, it opens the file choser dialog box. How would I do that?

3) I would also like to show only 1 file type, but I can probably figure that out myself…

Thanks in advance!

#254105 Reply

Riyad Kalla

1) You will create a new form and it sounds like you probably want a JDialog Form (since it will popup after the person clicks properties)

2) Right click on your Open menu item, go to Events and add an action -> actionListener event to pop open the dialog. There are visual ways to connect the two using the designer but I usually code the event handlers by hand in this fashion instead.

3) Try the down arrow in the package explorer and then Filters… I don’t know if it will give you what you want though.

#254147 Reply

kingzasz

Ok thanks! Got most the stuff figured out.

I’m still confused with the forms. If I create a different form for everything, every class will have its own main(String args) method. Do I just delete that from all but my main GUI window class?