facebook

openSession() method // update functionality

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Off Topic
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Kevin_L

Hi,
    I am using the the latest 3.8.2 MyEclipse with Eclipse 3.0, JVM 1.4.2.

First of all, I appreciate your support and help. With tutorials from your site and helps from other java programmers from open source community, I am learning a lot about J2EE development….well I am stuck in implementing update functionality with hibernate and I don’t know whoelse I should turn to..Hopefully someone would help me and direct me into the correct path…

I am mainly using MyEclipse with Hibernate funcationality to create contact managment application. Because I am new to the hibernate, I am stuck in update functionality.

Well, I would like to know why I cannot do this. Is it because of the way MyEclipse is configured for hibernate… I should be able to do this..

Contact contact = new Contact();
    //….update the contact from ContactForm data
    Session session = SessionFactory.openSession();
    session.update(contact);

But MyEclipse is only allowing me to choose currentsession() method… Am I missing something..???

this is what I have now..I know I should not use currentSession()….my application doesn’t spit out the hibernate exception errors but it goes back to listContact page with no update effect…

By the way, I have updateContact.java that extend the Structs Action and ActionForward… it first get the contactId from parameter and store it as String..If localContactId is not null, I create new Contact object and store all the data from ContactForm.. and then pass the object to ContactService.java which has updateContact method. Inside that method , I have this codes…

session = SessionFactory.currentSession();
    /*
    * Update the state of the item using the Hibernate session’s update method.
    * Call the flush method to ensure that the object in saved.
    */