[Troubleshoot] How to create a clean workspace

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Riyad Kalla 11 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #260477 Reply

    Riyad Kalla
    Member

    From time to time it may become necessary to create a new (clean) workspace and move all your old existing work from the old workspace to the new one. The reason for this is that your workspace holds a huge amount of stateful information and occasionally it is possible for this information to become corrupt or incorrect. Using -clean is not the correct way to clean the workspace.

    The fastest and easiest way to recreate a new workspace is to first open your old workspace then use File > Export > Preferences (leave “All” Selected) and export all your settings to a temporary file.

    Now use File > Switch Workspace to create a new workspace. You can now use File > Import > Preferences to first import your old preferences (from the file you exported previously) and also use File > Import > General > Existing Projects to import your projects from the old workspace.

    Note: Please keep in mind that how you import these projects will determine if the project continues to physically live in the old workspace or has been copied into the new workspace. Please pay attention to how you import your project to see if that is the case, before physically erasing your old workspace folder. The option is called “Copy projects into workspace” and is a checkbox in the lower section of the import dialog; by default it is not checked, so, if you want to create a standalone workspace, you must ensure that you check this box, otherwise you will not be able to delete your old workspace, without losing the project.

    • This topic was modified 3 years, 2 months ago by  support-tony. Reason: Typos and minor edits
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
Reply To: [Troubleshoot] How to create a clean workspace

This topic is marked as closed to new replies, however your posting capabilities still allow you to do so.