facebook

What are the correct ways of accessing data from a sql db

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Off Topic
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

vtcool

Hi,

I’m kinda new to the whole realm of accessing data from a database via a web application. So, I was wondering when to use certain objects like EJB versus beans versus the sql tag in JSP. In my web application, I have set up a datasource already but I am ready to read data from the database to display in a suitable format. To test the datasource, I was using jsp sql tags to read the data but I think there is a better way to reading data and displaying the data. I’m using JSF for the website. Any help in this area would be appreciated. Thanks 😀

#219016 Reply

Riyad Kalla

Moving to OT > Soft Dev

As far as your question is concerned, its typical to read data out in the following fashion (we will us a product list page as an example):
    1) User clicks a link to navigate to a new page
    2) Managed bean reads out the products from the DB and stored it in a local variable accessible by a getter (getProducts())
    3) JSP page loads, and uses a JSTL itterator to itterate over the getProducts java.util.List of Products, displaying the information on the page

You CAN of course embedd all this in the JSP page using the SQL tags, but in my experience its considered bad design and a PIA to maintain.

#219037 Reply

vtcool