facebook

[Closed] Can Deployment exclude projects exported by EAR?

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Java EE Development (EJB, JSP, Struts, XDoclet, etc.)

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

loopingrage

First I’d like to say that MyEclipse is a great product. I have been using it for a couple years now and am very impressed. Keep up the good work. OK, on to my situation:

Problem
    I have an Enterprise Application (EAR) containing one (1) Web Application and one (1) EJB Application. Both EJB and Web applications have a project reference in common, let call it CommonLib. The Web application however, has an additional project reference which I will call WebStuffLib.

I have configured my EAR Deployment to “Jar dependent Java Projects” and have instructed MyEclipse to regenerate my module’s MANIFEST.MF files. This all seems to be working great. However, I now have an issue with my Web Project. The Web project deployment options are configured to use the “Smart Deployment” option. This option causes ALL dependent Java projects to be merged into the exploded JAR’s “classes” directory regardless of whether they are already included by the EAR. Now my web application has two versions of my CommonLib classes in its ClassPath. This is causing serious ClassLoader issues when using Hibernate inside JBoss 4.0.4.

Question
    Is there a way to have the MyEclipse Deployer only deploy projects that are not already being included by the parent EAR? For example, in my case I would only expect WebStuffLib to be merged since CommonLib is already being added by the EAR.

Suggestion
    One suggestion would be to use the “Project References” selections in Eclipse as opposed to the referenced projects in the Build Path section.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

#259954 Reply

Riyad Kalla